local government areas in lagos

Full List Of Local Government Areas In Lagos

This article is aimed at enlightening you about the full list of local government areas in Lagos State. So, relax and let’s begin!

Lagos is a beautiful city to be in. This center of excellence was created on the 27th of May 1967 and has 20 Local Government Areas. It is one of the fastest-growing cities in the world.

Lagos is the smallest and most populous city in Nigeria. It is predominantly a Yoruba land but over the years, the state has noticed a large inflow of people from other tribes. Lagos is made up of the Island and Mainland. The Island consists of Lekki, VictoriIsland (VI), and Ikoyi. While the mainland consists of all other Local Government Areas that we’ll be looking at.

local government areas in lagos


This is a Local Government Area in the Ikeja Division of Lagos State. It is a suburb and is known for the Oba Akran Statue and the Oba Agege statue. Created in 1954, Agege has been merged with Ikeja twice (firsly in 1967, then removed in 1980 and 1983 it was merged again), during the military regime. In Agege, the Agege chieftaincy is made up of the Obas and six traditional members. Its people are called the Awori. Agege has a population of about 461,123 people. Its LGA office is locate d at A.J.J. Obamero Road, Adealu Road, Dopemu, Agege, Lagos State, Nigeria.


It is a Local Government Area in Badagry Division. It has a population of about 2,000,346 people and it is situated at Amukoko, Lagos State, Nigeria.


Created in 1945, Alimosho Local Government Area is under the Ikeja Division and is the largest local government area in Lagos. It was subdivided into six Local Community Development Areas (LCDA) namely; Alimosho Agbado/Oke-Odo, Ayobo-Ipaja, Egbe-Idimu, Igando-Ikotun, and Mosan Okunola.

Its office is situated at 3 Bada Street, Williams Layout, Akowonjo, Lagos State, Nigeria and have a population of about 11,456,783 people.


Just like Ajeromi/Ifelodun, Awumo-Odofin Local Government Area is under the Badagry Divisions. The people here are mainly Awori and they are very hospitable. Its office is located at 41 Road, off 4th Avenue, Festac Town, Lagos State, Nigeria. It has a population of about 318,576 people.


Apapa is located to the west of Lagos Island near the mouth of Lagos lagoon, where so many port activities take place. This is where the major port of Lagos State and Lagos Port Complex (LPC), Tin Can Island Port, and terminals operated by the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA). Some refineries can also be found here including the BUA Group and the headquarters of Thisday, a Nigerian newspaper house. It has a population of about 217,661 people and its office is situated at 37 Burma Road, Apapa, Lagos State, Nigeria.


Badagry is a coastal town situated on the south-west coast of Nigeria, bordered by Lagos City and Seme, a border town in Benin Republic. This used to be a route for the slave trade and a slave port, back in the days. Badagry is known to have the first story building in Nigeria which was built by Thomas Birch Freeman. Its address is The Secretariat, Ajara-Badagry, Badagry, Lagos State, Nigeria. It has a population of about 241,437 people.


Epe is not just a Local Government Area, but also a town. It sits between the Lekki Lagoon and Ibadan. Some of the festivals celebrated here are; Ojude-Oba, Kayo-kayo Festival, Ebi day, Epe day, etc. Its office is located at Ita-Marun, Epe, Lagos State, Nigeria. It has a population of about 181,715 people.           


Eti-Osa and Lagos Island Local Government Area served as Nigeria’s Capital before it was moved to Abuja. Although, Lagos State as a whole is a mixture of diverse cultures, the Awori Yoruba and the Edo subgroup are the most predominant in Eti-Osa Local Government Area. They are known for fishing, farming, and trading. It is further divided into four Local Community Development Areas (LCDA) namely; Eti-Osa East, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, and Ikoyi-Obalende. It has a population of about 287,958 people and its office is situated at Igbo-Efon Km 15 Eti Osa – Epe Expressway, Lagos State, Nigeria.


The name Ibeju-Lekki was derived from two independent communities, Ibeju and Lekki. It is a Local Government Area of Lekki.


With a land area of 43 square kilometers, Ifako/Ijaiye is a suburb town and Local Government Area created on the 1st of October, 1996 by then Military Head Of State General Sani Abacha. It initially was in the Agege Local Government Area before it was carved out.


This is the capital of Lagos, home of the Murtala Mohammed International Airport. Ikeja was originally inhabited by the Awori people and was first called Ikeja, after the name of their deity. The Ikeja Local Government Area chairman is Engr. Mojeed Balogun. Aside from the Murtala Muhammad Airport, Ikeja has been the headquarters of several other airlines like Arik Air, Afrijet Airline, Dana Air, and more. Other popular places in Ikeja are the Femi Kuti’s Africa Shrine, Ikeja City Mall, and Computer Village.


Sharing a boundary with Ogun State, Ikorodu is situated along the Lagos Lagoon. It is one of the fastest-growing towns. It has six Local Community Development Areas (LCDA) namely; Imota, Igbogbo/Bayeku, Ijede, Ikorodu North, Ikorodu West, and Ikorodu.


It has a population of about 665,421 people. Its local government area is situated at Ogudu road, Ojuta, Lagos State.

Lagos Island           

Lagos Island also known as Ìsàlẹ̀ Èkó used to be a fishing village but, now, it has grown into a modern city of Lagos. Three large Bridges connects it to the mainland. This is the part of Lagos where the Oba resides. It is also known for its large market places such as Balogun and Idumota market. It has Lagos Island West and Lagos Island East.

Lagos Mainland

 Mainland LGAs include Surulere, Apapa, and Lagos Mainland.


It has a population of about 633,543 people. Its LGA office is situated at 82/84 Palm Avenue, Mushin, Lagos State, Nigeria.


It has a population of about 598,336 people. Its LGA office is located at Olojo drive, Ojo town, Lagos State, Nigeria.      


Shomolu is one of Lagos State’s local Government Areas and is known as a printing hub. Shomolu was formerly known as Mushin East local government.


Oshodi is a local Government Area of the Ikeja Division. It was created by Alhaji Later Kayode Jakande AKA Baba Kekere, Governor of Lagos State from 1979 to 1983.


Surulere is a Local Government Area suitable for both commercial and residential purposes. At night, the city comes to life with cocktail bars, clubs, and street food vendors. It is bordered by Yaba, Mushin, and Ebute-Metta. Other landmarks there are the National Arts Theatre, Lagos National Stadium, and Ojuelegba.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top