Nigerian Army Rank, Salary Structure And Everything You Need To Know


How much do you know about the Nigerian Army Rank? What is the salary structure of the Nigerian Army? Which is the highest-paid force in Nigeria? In this article, we will discuss everything you need to know about how much you can receive as a salary in the Nigerian Army?

nigerian army rank

Nigeria has three main military arms including; the Navy (for the sea), the Airforce and the Army (manning the land).

The Military is authorized by Federal Law to defend the citizens of the country especially in occasions of national threat or declared war. The military may sometimes be called on serve on surveillance teams across schools, health, and medical services, banks as well as corporations.

The Nigerian Army was founded in 1900. At the time, it was called the Royal West African Frontier Force and trained by the British to help fight the Second World War. They have fought in several other wars including the Congo Crisis, First Liberian Civil War, Sierra Leone Civil War, Northern Mali War, Invasion of the Gambia and many more.

The current Chief of Army Staff is Lt. General Tukur Yusuf Buratai and the headquarters of the army in Abuja, Nigeria.

Structure of The Nigerian Army

The Nigerian Army is the largest arm of the Nigerian Military (Nigeria Armed Forces) and governed by the Nigerian Army Council. In 2016, there were over 200, 000 soldiers in the Nigerian Army. In recent years, the Nigerian Army, alongside other security units in Nigeria have been working together to fight the Boko Haram insurgency.

It is also important to realize that the Nigerian Army is one of the most equipped in West Africa and Africa at large. According to particular reports, the Nigerian Army is among the largest army in the world.

However, some of the principal duties of this arm of the military in Nigeria include:

  • Humanitarian missions
  • Enemy targets engaging
  • Base security
  • Law enforcement
  • Supplies and troops transportation

The Nigerian Army Rank

Despite the key obligations, there are different ranks in the Nigerian army. Each rank determines the salary structure and set of obligations. Nevertheless, the Nigerian Army Rank is divided into two major categories:

  • The Commissioned Officers
  • The Non-Commissioned Officers

Non – Commissioned Officers

These are officers that have not earned a formal document that would appoint them to the position of a commissioned officer. Non-commissioned officers include:

  1. Master Warrant Officer
  2. Warrant Officer
  3. Staff Sergeant
  4. Sergeant
  5. Corporal
  6. Lance Corporal
  7. Private
  8. Recruit

Commissioned Officers

The commissioned officers earned a commission. There are over 11 ranks of commissioned officers include:

  1. Second Lieutenant
  2. First Lieutenant
  3. Captain
  4. Major
  5. Lieutenant Colonel
  6. Colonel
  7. Brigadier General
  8. Major General
  9. Lieutenant General
  10. General
  11. Field Marshal

Second Lieutenant – This is the lowest Nigerian army rank with regards commissioned officers. However, the soldiers in this rank are recognized as the same as the second lieutenant by the NATO ranking.

First Lieutenant – This is the deputy of the Captain and recognized by NATO as having One star.

Captain – this is the highest rank in the tactical division. However, it is recognized by NATO as the Two-star rank.

Major – In the field officers department, this is the lowest category, although superior to the tactical unit. NATO recognizes the Captain as having three stars.

Lieutenant Colonel – This is the field officer of the middle level with four stars from NATO. He is the deputy to the Colonel

Colonel – This is the highest field officer and regarded as five stared by NATO

Brigadier General – NATO indicates this rank as Six stars while Nigeria calls it the One Star Rank.

Major General – This is the medium commissioned officer with two stars in Nigeria while NATO recognizes as Seven Stars

General – This is the Four-star rank in Nigeria. However, NATO ranks this position as Nine Stars. It is the highest rank ever achieved by a Nigerian.

Field Marshal – This is the highest Nigerian Army Rank. NATO recognizes this position as the Eight Star rank while Nigeria sees it as the Five Star-rank. However, there is no evidence of any field marshals in the history of Nigeria.

Nigerian Army Rank and Salary Structure

It is important to realize that unlike popular assumptions, members of the Nigerian military are not paid so much. The salary depends on the rank of the officers. Compared to the risks they take every day; it would be right to state that the gamble is not entirely productive in their favor.

nigerian army rank

Salary Structure of the Non-Commissioned Officers:

  • Private Soldier – N49,000
  • Lance Corporal – N55,000
  • Corporal – N58,000
  • Sergeant – N63,000
  • Staff Sergeant – N68,000
  • Warrant Officer – N80,000
  • Master Warrant Officer – N90,000

Salary Structure for the Commissioned Officers:

  1. Second Lieutenant – N120,000
  2. Lieutenant – N180,000
  3. Captain – N220,000
  4. Major – N300,000
  5. Lieutenant Colonel – N350,000
  6. Colonel – N550,000
  7. Brigadier General – N750,000
  8. Major General – N950,000
  9. Lieutenant General – N1 million
  10. General – N1.5 million
  11. Field Marshal – unknown (No Field Marshals in Nigerian History)

Now you know about the Nigerian Army rank and their salary structure. Each rank has a unique set of obligations alongside rules governing their conduct. Nevertheless, if you wish to join the Nigerian Military, your level of education may determine your starting rank and how long it would take to climb up the ladder.

Leave a Reply